Level 1, Central House, 26 Brandon Street
PO Box 10691 | Wellington
T. 04 494 0124 F. 04 494 0125 E. nzsa@anaesthesia.org.nz


Asian Australasia Region WFSA

Asian Australasian Region (WFSA)

The Asian/Australasian Region WFSA (AARS) was formed in 1970 and its membership is made up by the national societies of countries from Asia, Australasia and the Western and Central Pacific islands.

The purpose of the AARS is to co-operate with the WFSA in promoting the aims and objectives of the WFSA, which are to make available the highest standards of anaesthesia, pain treatment, trauma management and resuscitation to all peoples of the world and to disseminate the same amongst them. The AARS does this by endeavouring to closer relationships among member national societies, encouraging and assisting in the formation of national societies, stimulating and maintaining interest in education in anaesthesiology throughout the region and by helping safeguard the interests of the speciality of anaesthesia throughout the region.

The AARS has been focussing on improving the standard of education in the region through an educational workshop programme. Two types of workshop are offered: “Practical teaching in anaesthesia” and “Improving the training program in anaesthesia”. So far, workshops have been run in Hanoi, Pattaya and Manila.

The AARS has also been a strong supporter of the Primary Trauma Care (PTC) programme, which aims to introduce the two-day PTC course to remote and less affluent areas of the Asian/Australasian region. PTC is established in the Pacific, Indonesia, Vietnam, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. The AARS has actively supported PTC in Vietnam.

WFSA_report_to_NZSA_2009_.pdf90.55 KB

^ top of page