New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists (NZSA) – Level 1, Central House, 26 Brandon Street, Wellington 6011
04 494 0124 |

Current Executive Committee

The Executive Committee of the NZSA is the Governing Board of the organisation.  The Executive Committee is made up of:

  • President
  • Vice President
  • Treasurer
  • Secretary
  • Six elected members.  Extra members can be co-opted in between AGMs as per the NZSA constitution.  The trainee roles are a shared portfolio.
David Kibblewhite original

Dr David Kibblewhite

President, Hamilton

NZSA President October 2015 – November 2018

David Kibblewhite, our current NZSA President, is a Consultant Anaesthetist and a Pain Specialist from Waikato DHB. As the President David represents NZSA’s view to government agencies, represents us at various councils and committees of our affiliated organistions, and is our spokesperson for the profession, advocating for patient safety and the welfare of New Zealand anaesthethists.


Kathryn Hagen resized

Kathryn Hagen

NZSA Vice President and Incoming President, Auckland

Presidential year 2018-2020

Kathryn Hagen is a Consultant Anaesthetist at Auckland DHB. As the President Elect, she deputises for the President when required and attends meetings and events on his behalf.  Kathryn represents the NZSA on the Specialist Council of the New Zealand Medical Association, at New Zealand Anaesthetic Technicians’ Society meetings, and holds several portfolios in the committee.

malcolm resized

Dr Malcolm Stuart

Treasurer, Wellington

Elected Treasurer from October 2015

Malcolm Stuart is a Consultant Anaesthetist based in Wellington. He is in private practice and spends a lot of time travelling around the remote areas of the South Island on a mobile surgical bus. As Treasurer, Malcolm oversees the finances of the organisation and works with the Chief Executive to ensure audited and accurate accounts are presented to the Board.  As Treasurer he also proposes and maintains fiscal responsibility on the executive team.  The Board is ultimately responsible for the financial management of the Society and the Treasurer provides oversight for this.

Sheila Hart resized

Dr Sheila Hart

Secretary, Wellington

Sheila Hart is a Consultant Anaesthetist at Capital and Coast DHB in Wellington.  She is Honorary Secretary and has been involved in various advocacy  issues for the NZSA. As Secretary, she provides support for the President, and can deputise as needed.

Sheila is a co-convenor for the ASA/NZSA 2020 Combined Scientific Congress meeting in Wellington.


Dr Mark Featherston

Private Practice Chair, Wellington

Mark Featherston is a Consultant Anaesthetist in Wellington and does a mixture of public and private practice, including at Bowen and Wakefield Hospitals. He was the past Treasurer of the NZSA and is currently the NZSA Private Practice SubCommittee Chair, representing the NZSA with ACC, Southern Cross, the New Zealand Private Surgical Hospitals Association and other private funders. Mark is also the co-convenor of the 2020 ASA/NZSA Combined Scientific Congress in Wellington.

Kaye Ottoway resized1

Dr Kaye Ottaway

Deputy Private Practice Chair, Auckland

Kaye Ottaway is a private Specialist Anaesthetist who works at Anaesthesia Auckland Limited.  She is involved in several committees at various Private Hospitals and funders and has immense knowledge of private practice. She works very closely with Mark Featherston and co-chairs the Private Practice SubCommittee, deputising for him as needed. Kaye also represents the NZSA on the Paediatric Anaesthetist Network of NZ.  She wears many hats and has advocated for New Zealand Anaesthetists across several platforms on behalf of the NZSA.

Kerry Holmes resized

Dr Kerry Holmes

Education Officer, Auckland

Kerry Holmes is a Consultant Anaesthetist at North Shore Hospital. As the NZSA Education Officer, Kerry represents the NZSA on the Anaesthesia Education Coordinating Committee (known as ACE) and the New Zealand Anaesthesia Education Committee. He guides the executive committee on upcoming events in New Zealand, and contributes to educational opportunities offered by the NZSA to New Zealand Anaesthetists. He is a previous recipient of the BWT Ritchie Scholarship.

Ian Williams resized1

Dr Ian Williams

Executive Member, Christchurch

Ian Williams has recently joined the Executive team and attended his first meeting in March.  We are pleased to have a voice from Christchurch who represents such a large membership in the South Island.

Morgan Edwards resized1

Dr Morgan Edwards

Senior Trainee Representative, Wellington

Morgan Edwards is a Trainee Anaesthetist at Level 9, Auckland DHB.  She is a Senior Trainee Representative on the NZSA Executive Committee. The Trainee role is a shared function and Morgan shares this role with John Burnett as .5FTE on the Committee.  Morgan or John represent the NZSA at trainee meetings and act as a link person on trainee issues from the field.

John Burnett resized

Dr John Burnett

Deputy Trainee Rep, Auckland

John Burnett is an ATY1 trainee at Auckland DHB and represents trainees on the NZSA Executive Committee, alongside Morgan Edwards. He says a key aim is to open conversation between different levels of the specialty.

Gareth Harris resized

Dr Gareth Harris

Executive Member, Blenheim

Dr Harris has recently joined the NZSA Executive and attended his first meeting in March 2017. We are very pleased to have a representative from a provincial hospital in the South Island, which boosts the NZSA’s representation and voice.