Linkperson Network

The NZSA Linkperson Network comprises of anaesthetists from throughout the country who work as our regional representatives to connect the NZSA Executive Committee to key issues affecting anaesthesia in their areas.  The Network provides hospitals and centres a channel for information flow between the Society and NZSA members. We now have 22 anaesthetists in our Network, from Whangarei through to Invercargill.

A similar system has been used successfully in the UK by the AAGBI.

We aim to have a linkperson in every hospital.  If you are in a hospital which does not yet have a linkperson, or would like to talk about the work of this Network, please email Kathryn Hagen at


Andrew Childs – Northland

Joanna Coates – Northland

Kathryn Hagen – Auckland

Elsa Taylor – Auckland

Ted Hughes – Waitemata

Jim Olsen – Waitemata

Ruth Wall – Counties Manukau

Andrew Munro – Waikato

Renee Franklin – Bay of Plenty

Tomas Goscinski – Gisborne

Emma Patrick – Taranaki

Marco Meijer – Wanganui

Kim Heus – Lakes District

Gerard McHugh – Mid Central

Murray Harty – Hawkes Bay

Mark Featherston – Wellington

Andrew Mason – Nelson/Marlborough

Gareth Harris – Nelson/Marlborough

Graham Roper – Canterbury/Westland

Edwin van Broekhoven – Otago

Richard More – Southland