National Obstetric Anaesthesia (NOA) Network

NOA provides national representation of obstetric anaesthetists and aims to consolidate and amalgamate best practice, share guidelines, provide support for clinical practice in difficult cases, and to encourage and support members to foster training and education. This is particularly important for obstetric anaesthetists working in isolated regions.

NOA is jointly supported by the New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists (NZSA) and the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists New Zealand National Committee (ANZCA NZNC), with both organisations taking turns to host the annual three to four face-to-face network meetings.  The network also has a joint meeting with Midwives and the Obstetricians once a year which the Society and College helps to sponsor.  The NZSA provides secretariat services for the network and updates to the membership.

NOA meetings are held in Wellington, the dates for 2019 are as follows: 18 March – ANZCA Office; 12 August – Wellington Airport Conference Centre; 18 November – ANZCA Office.

The Chair of NOA is Dr Aidan O’Donnell (pictured above), Lead Obstetric Anaesthetist at Waikato Hospital. Aidan is also the author of Anaesthesia: A Very Short Introduction and the assistant editor of the Oxford Handbook of Anaesthesia.


Epidural Pain Relief in Labour – NZSA and WDHB is available on Vimeo. The video was recorded in 2006 as an educational tool for patients and maternity caregivers.

OAA have given us permission to use two of their factsheets OAA NZSA Pain Relief in Labour – How do the options compare? and OAA Epidural Information. These are also available to women under the patient section of this website here.

Your Epidural is a brochure for patients. Feel free to download a copy.

Maternity Information Systems Project (MISP MoH) communications October 2016

The current list of members are:

DHB Hospital Name
Waikato DHB Waikato Aidan O’Donnell
Auckland DHB Auckland City Hospital Matthew Drake
Capital & Coast DHB Wellington Hospital Douglas Mein
Mid Central DHB Palmerston North Hospital Alison Davies
Counties Manukau DHB Middlemore Hospital Anne Hart
Wairarapa DHB Wairarapa/Masterton Hospital Ashveer Dunpath
Mid Central DHB Palmerston North Hospital Catherine Eckersley
Waitemata DHB North Shore Hospital Clare Fisher
Taranaki DHB Taranaki Base Hospital David Freschini
Capital & Coast DHB Wellington Dean Walsh
Whanganui DHB Whanganui Hospital Deborah Gardiner
BOP DHB Whakatane Hospital Denise White
Lakes DHB Rotorua Hospital Duane English
Taranaki DHB Taranaki Base Hospital Emma Patrick
Counties Manukau DHB Middlemore Hospital Fiona Gilmour
Southern DHB Southland Hospital, Invercargill Fungai Chikosi
Hutt Valley DHB Hutt Hospital Han Truong
BOP DHB Tauranga Hospital Heidi Omundsen
Southern DHB John Wilson
Nelson Marlborough DHB Nelson Hospital Katie Ben
Auckland DHB Auckland City Hospital Morgan Edwards
Canterbury DHB Christchurch Hospital Nigel Skjellerup
Hawke’s Bay DHB Hawke’s Bay Hospital Sarah Sew Hoy
Northland DHB Sharon Dempsey
Waitemata DHB North Shore Hospital Tim Parris-Piper
Taranaki DHB Taranaki Base Hospital Tom Lupton
South Canterbury DHB Timaru Hospital Thomas Gough
West Coast DHB Grey Base Hospital William B. McIlvaine

If you would like any further information regarding the National Obstetric Anaesthetists (NOA) Group or have any suggestions for the members of this network please email: nzsa@anaesthesia.nz