Continuing Professional Development (CPD)/Continuing Medical Education (CME)

About the Standard

The Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists (ANZCA), is the medical specialist college for anaesthetists in Australia and New Zealand. In New Zealand, ANZCA is accredited by the Medical Council of New Zealand to set continuing professional development (CPD) standards for all specialist anaesthetists in New Zealand.

To download the Medical Council Recertification and Continuing Professional Development booklet please click here.


The Anaesthesia Continuing Education Coordinating Committee (ACE) is a tripartite body governed by the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists, the Australian Society of Anaesthetists and the New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists.

The committee rebranded ACECC to ACE (Anaesthesia Continuing Education) in 2015.

ACE is a great resource if you’re looking for events to attend or need help organising or promoting an event of your own.

It’s also home to 17 Special Interest Groups, so if you have a special interest in any area of anaesthesia, you’ll find a group representing it here!

The current Chair of ACE is Dr David Elliott and the ACE Secretariats are Rosetta Caponio and Kirsty O’Connor.


The New Zealand Anaesthesia Education Committee (NZAEC) is a joint committee of the New Zealand National Committee of the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists and the NZSA. It provides coordination and support for meetings and other CPD events for anaesthetists, particularly the NZ Anaesthesia Annual Scientific Meeting.

NZAEC also supports professional development by providing annual NZ Anaesthesia Visiting Lectureships and administering the BWT Ritchie Scholarship.

The NZAEC Chair is Kerry Holmes, who is a member of the NZSA Executive and also the NZSA’s Education Officer.

The NZSA look after the administration of NZAEC and the secretary is Julie Drury